Cultured pearls come in various shapes, including round, semi-round, baroque (irregular shape), semi-baroque (drop, button, oval or pearl shapes), circled and keshi (small irregular shaped pearls with no nucleus).

Tiare Black Pearl has adopted the Tahitian pearl grading system for grading pearls from Tahiti, Australia and Indonesia (South Seas pearls) and Freshwater pearls from China. Under this system pearls are graded from Gem quality (perfect) through A, B, C and D grades.

Gem quality

Flawless pearl. Excellent lustre.

Category A

Pearl without imperfections on at least 90% of its surface. On the 10% remaining the pearl may exhibit small concentrated flaws and one deep imperfection at most. Minimum very good lustre.

Category B

Pearl without imperfections on at least 70% of its surface. On the 30% remaining the pearl may exhibit slight concentrated flaws and two imperfections at most. Minimum good lustre.

Category C

Pearl without imperfections on at least 40% of its surface. On the 60% remaining the pearl may present slight concentrated flaws and 10% deep imperfections at most. Minimum average lustre.

Category D

Pearl with slight imperfections on over 60% of its surface with 20% deep imperfections and/or white spots at most. Minimum weak lustre.

Tiare Black Pearl has hundreds of pearls of various categories, sizes and shapes to choose from. Loose pearls are complemented by a variety of 18 carat gold pendants, earrings and rings (see Findings). While Gem and A Category pearls are clearly exquisite, rare and highly in demand, it is sometimes better to carefully select a B or C grade pearl, which, when mounted with an appropriate setting, can actually hide any otherwise obvious defects.

To find the prices for loose pearls go directly to the categories: Tahitian, South Seas, Freshwater or New Zealand pearls.